Duplicate and Update/Corrected Titles

Duplicate Title

If you have lost your original title, you must apply for a duplicate title before any change of ownership, corrections/updates or lien recordings may be done. Application is made at your local county clerk’s office.

 

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Application for Kentucky Certificate/Registration (TC96-182) must be completed, signed by all registered owners and notarized. Power of Attorney document required when POA signs. Note-Titles that contain AND or do not have a designation between names of owners require both signatures of those listed. OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one.
  • If the application is for the purpose of applying for a loan, the owner needs to indicate this on the application. A pending lien will be noted and the owner will be given a goldenrod copy of the registration to present to the lending institution. If the lending institution is located in another state the county clerk’s office will record the lien. Otherwise, the lending institution will use the goldenrod copy and Title Lien Statement to record the lien.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

 

FEES
Title Fee: $6.00

ATV Fee: $10.00
Lien Filing Fee (if applicable): $22.00 or $24.00

 

NOTE-To file a lien the amount is $22.00, however, if the debtor does not file the lien within 20 days of its application, a penalty of $2.00 is assessed by the County Clerk. All liens not filed within 20 days will be $24.00.

Note-The Title Branch at the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet will print the duplicate title the next business day and mail it to the owner. Duplicate titles cannot be picked up on a walk-thru basis. (If a pending lien is filed, printing of the title is held for 30 days.) Duplicate titles cannot be processed as a Speed Title.

                                                                                        Back to Top


Corrected or Updated Title

Any Kentucky titled motor vehicles that require a correction or an update to the information printed on the title would require a corrected or updated title to be processed.


Examples of a corrected or updated title are updating the name of owner due to marriage, divorce, court order or changing the vehicle to a Trust; correcting the spelling of the owner’s name; correcting the vehicle information or adding a lien. If the correction of the title involves mileage, please see the
Corrected Title/Updated Title for Mileage Errors section.

 

Currently, there are two types of Kentucky Titles that have been issued to vehicles. For paperwork examples please click here.

 

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them. Highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • If changing the name on the title due to marriage, divorce or court order, the owner needs documentation authorizing the name change (marriage license for marriage, divorce papers or updated driver's license for divorce, or documents signed by the courts to legally change a name).
  • If the application is for applying for a loan, the owner needs to indicate this on the Application for Kentucky Certificate/Registration (TC96-182)or the Lien Portion on the back of Kentucky titles if the title was issued after February 2000. A pending lien will be noted and the owner will be given a goldenrod copy of the registration to present to the lending institution. If the lending institution is located in another state the county clerk’s office will record the lien. Otherwise, the lending institution will use the goldenrod copy and Title Lien Statement to record the lien.
  • Further documentation may be required to perform a corrected or update title. Contact the clerk’s office for further information.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

 

 

FEES
Title Fee: $6.00

ATV Fee: $10.00
Lien Filing Fee (if applicable): $22.00 or $24.00

 

NOTE-To file a lien the amount is $22.00, however, if the debtor does not file the lien within 20 days of its application, a penalty of $2.00 is assessed by the County Clerk. All liens not filed within 20 days will be $24.00.

Note-The Title Branch at the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet will mail the updated title within 6-8 weeks of application. Update titles cannot be picked up on a walk-thru basis. Faster delivery is not available for a corrected or updated title.

 

Name Change

Any owner who changes their name for any reason shall notify the clerk in person of the name change within fifteen days. The owner will present the appropriate legal paperwork for the name change and process an updated title. See the Corrected or Updated Title section for further paperwork needed.

Back to Top

Corrected Title/Updated Title for Mileage Errors

Vehicles that have been titled with the wrong mileage information can be corrected with the proper documentation. Speed titles are not allowed for corrected titles due to mileage errors. The application for mileage corrections are done through the clerk’s office.

 

Kentucky Titles Printed With Incorrect Mileage

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Previous Kentucky title
  • Application for Kentucky Certificate/Registration (TC96-182) must be completed, signed by all registered owners and notarized. Persons that have power of attorney for the owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.
  • Titles issued after February 2000 have the assignment portion and Vehicle Transaction Record (VTR) portion combined on the back of the Certificate of Title. These titles would NOT require the Application for title/registration (VTR Vehicle Transaction Record-Form # TC96-182) in order to complete the request for corrected or updated title.
  • Certified Sheriff’s inspection of vehicle verifying mileage. (Sheriff’s inspection section is on theApplication for Kentucky Certificate/Registration (TC96-182). See Sheriff’s inspection for further information.
  • Affidavit from each owner who stated the mileage incorrectly, affidavit should include
    • Owner’s name
    • Title Number
    • What the mileage should be
    • The Affidavit must be signed and notarized
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

 

FEES
Title Fee: $6.00
Contact clerk’s office for additional fees if correction is done at the time of transfer

 

Contact clerk’s office for additional fees if correction is done at the time of transfer