Kentucky Boat Title Transfers

Boat title transfers are done through the county clerk’s office in the county of buyer’s county of residence or the county of dockage of the boat. Boats that do not have a title will state NO DVR TITLE on the most current Kentucky registration receipt. Currently, there are several types of Kentucky Titles that have been issued for boats. All sellers and buyers must sign the title and their signatures’ notarized. Titles issued before February 2000 will only have the assignment portion on the back of the title, which only requires the signature of the seller and does not require a notary. Persons that have power of attorney for the owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If County Clerk staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented.

Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.

Note-Boats that do not have any paperwork may not have been entered into the Kentucky database. For information see the Boat Title Transfers-No Paperwork section.

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Certificate of Title-Unless NO DVR TITLE is stated on Kentucky registration receipt; then you must present the registration receipt to the county clerk
  • Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184 must be completed. Form must be signed by all sellers and buyers and their signatures’ notarized. Persons that have power of attorney for the seller or buyer/owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.
  • Social Security Number for each party appearing on the title or Federal ID Number for companies.
  • If a loan was needed for the purchase of the vehicle, Lien Portion on the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184 must be completed.
  • Termination statement for current liens on title must be completed by the financial institution and signed, then submitted to the clerk.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

Property Tax-If at the time of a Kentucky title only transfer, property tax has not been paid, the seller will be responsible for the tax.

For examples of boat transfer paperwork, click here.

Fees
Title Fee$6.00
Registration Fee$12.00
Additional fee for expired registrationsContact county clerk’s office for details
Lien Filing Fee (if applicable)$22.00 or $24.00
No Usage or Sales Tax on in-state boats

NOTE-To file a lien the amount is $22.00, however, if the debtor does not file the lien within 20 days of its application, a penalty of $2.00 is assessed by the County Clerk. All liens not filed within 20 days will be $24.00.

Back to Top

New Boat Title Transfers

Boats that are purchased new in-state or out-of-state are required to be titled within 15 days. Boat title transfers are done through the county clerk’s office in the buyer’s county of residence or the county of dockage of the boat.

 

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin properly assigned to the buyer by the selling dealer
  • Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184 must be completed. Form must be signed by all sellers and buyers and their signatures’ notarized. Persons that have power of attorney for the owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.
  • Use Tax is collected on all out-of-state new or used boats. The Out-of-State Purchase Use Tax Affidavit (Form # 51A280) must be completed, signed by the buyer and the buyer’s signature notarized stating the sales price of the boat. The Use Tax collected is 6% of the sale price of the boat. See Use Tax section for further information. If the boat is purchased from an out-of-state dealer, buyer must submit proof from that state’s Revenue Cabinet that the Kentucky buyer paid tax to another state.
  • Social Security Number for each party appearing on the title or Federal ID Number for companies.
  • If a loan was needed for the purchase of the boat, the buyer needs to indicate this on the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184. A pending lien will be noted and the buyer will be given a goldenrod copy of the registration to present to the lending institution. If the lending institution is located in another state the county clerk’s office will record the lien. Otherwise, the lending institution will use the goldenrod copy and a Title Lien Statement to record the lien.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

 

For examples of boat transfer paperwork, click here.

 

Fees
Title Fee$9.00
Registration FeeContact county clerk’s office
Lien Filing Fee (if applicable)$22.00 or $24.00
Use Tax (out-of-state boats only)6% of the Purchase Price. See Use Tax section.
Back to Top

Out-of-State Boat Title Transfers

Boats that are purchased from out-of-state are required to be titled within 15 days. Boat title transfers are done through the county clerk’s office in the buyer’s county of residence or the county of dockage of the boat. Out-of-state residents may also title/register their boat in Kentucky if the boat is docked in Kentucky. Out-of-state residents will perform the transfer in the county of dockage of the boat.

 

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Out-of-state title-some states do not title boats, therefore out-of-state registration will be needed. Contact county clerk’s office for states that do not title boats.
  • Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184 must be completed. Form must be signed by all sellers and buyers and their signatures’ notarized. Persons that have power of attorney for the owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner. If you have a Bill of Sale signed and notarized by the seller, the seller is not required to sign the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184. However, the buyer is still required to fill out the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184.
  • Use Tax is collected on all out-of-state new or used boats. The Out-of-State Purchase Use Tax Affidavit (Form # 51A280) must be completed, signed by the buyer and the buyer’s signature notarized stating the sales price of the boat. The Use Tax collected is 6% of the sale price of the boat. See Use Tax section for further information.
  • Social Security Number for each party appearing on the title or Federal ID Number for companies.
  • If a loan was needed for the purchase of the boat, the buyer needs to indicate this on the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184. A pending lien will be noted and the buyer will be given a goldenrod copy of the registration to present to the lending institution. If the lending institution is located in another state the county clerk’s office will record the lien. Otherwise, the lending institution will use the goldenrod copy and a Title Lien Statement to record the lien.
  • If the boat is from out-of-state and does not have a title just a registration, a Pencil Tracing of the Hull Identification Number is required
  • All liens must be satisfied before transferring a boat. A termination statement must be completed by the financial institution and signed, then submitted to the clerk.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

 

For examples of boat transfer paperwork, click here.

 

Fees
Title Fee$9.00
Registration FeeContact county clerk’s office
Lien Filing Fee (if applicable)$22.00 or $24.00
Use Tax 6% of the Purchase Price. See Use Tax section.

NOTE-To file a lien the amount is $22.00, however, if the debtor does not file the lien within 20 days of its application, a penalty of $2.00 is assessed by the County Clerk. All liens not filed within 20 days will be $24.00.

Back to Top

Boat Title Transfers-No Paperwork

Boats that do not have any paperwork may not have been entered into any databases. If a person has owned a boat for at least 5-7 years, they may apply for a title for the boat. Any individual who recently purchased a boat that does not have paperwork can have the seller sign the required Boat Affidavit (also located in the clerk’s office) as long as the seller owned the boat for at least 5-7 years. These boat transfers are done through the county clerk’s office in the owner’s county of residence or the county of dockage of the boat.

 

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Seller and buyer must sign Boat Affidavit (also located in clerk’s office) and have signatures notarized. If a boat owner wishes to obtain a title and has owned the boat for 5-7 years and is not selling it, then the owner will sign as owner/buyer and have signature notarized. Persons that have power of attorney for the seller or buyer/owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.
  • Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184 must be completed. All sellers and buyers must sign form and have their signatures’ notarized. Persons that have power of attorney for the seller or buyer/owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.
  • Pencil Tracing of the Hull Identification Number-if there is no Hull Identification Number customer will make the notation “no HIN number” on affidavit
  • Social Security Number for each party appearing on the title or Federal ID Number for companies.
  • If a loan was needed for the purchase of the boat, the buyer needs to indicate this on the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184. A pending lien will be noted and the buyer will be given a goldenrod copy of the registration to present to the lending institution. If the lending institution is located in another state the county clerk’s office will record the lien. Otherwise, the lending institution will use the goldenrod copy and a Title Lien Statement to record the lien.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

 

Fees
Title Fee $9.00
Registration Fee Contact county clerk’s office
Lien Filing Fee (if applicable) $22.00 or $24.00

 

 

NOTE-To file a lien the amount is $22.00, however, if the debtor does not file the lien within 20 days of its application, a penalty of $2.00 is assessed by the County Clerk. All liens not filed within 20 days will be $24.00.

Back to Top

Rebuilt Title for Homemade/Salvage Boats

Boats that have been Salvaged or a boat that is homemade must go through the Rebuilt Title process before the boat may be registered or used on the water.

Homemade Boats

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Assembled from Wrecked or Salvaged Motor Vehicles  Form #TC96-215 must be completed by the buyer/owner, signed and buyer/owner’s signature notarized.
    • The year model-use the year boat was built
    • Also state the dimensions of the boat
  • Need original receipts for parts/materials purchased to construct the boat
  • If you supplied your own materials you need to make a notarized list of parts/materials used and from where they were obtained
  • Handwritten receipts must contain the name, address and telephone number of the person selling the parts/materials, the name of the purchasers, what items were purchased and the cost. If the above information is not provided, the handwritten receipt would have to be signed by the seller and notarized.
  • Need a descriptive notarized statement of labor stating what was done to construct the boats. This is to be done by the person(s) who constructed the boat.
  • Need a Water Patrol Inspection. Contact (502)564-3074 for the nearest body of water for the inspection.
  • Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184 must be completed. Persons that have power of attorney for the seller or owner/buyer may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner. If you have a Bill of Sale signed and notarized by the seller, the seller is not required to sign the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction Record (BTR Form TC96-184). However, the buyer is still required to fill out the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184.
  • Must submit all paperwork to the Rebuilt Section for processing. The Rebuilt Section will assign a Hull Identification Number to the boat. It is the owner’s responsibility to have a plate made or etch the Assigned Hull Identification Number to the Transum of the boat.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.

 

Fees
Title Fee$9.00
Registration FeeContact county clerk’s office

 

Salvage Title Boats

The following documents and information are required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)

  • Need properly assigned Salvage Title- Boats that do not have a title will state NO DVR TITLE on the Kentucky registration receipt. Currently, there are several types of Kentucky Titles that have been issued for boats. Titles issued after February 2000 have the assignment portion and Transaction Record form combined on the back of the Certificate of Title. All sellers and buyers must sign the title and their signatures’ notarized. Titles issued before February 2000 will only have the assignment portion on the back of the title, which only requires the signature of the seller and does not require a notary. Persons that have power of attorney for the owner(s) may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.
  • If there is not a title on the boat, you will need to obtain the following notarized statement of ownership from the seller stating:
    • How many years boat was owned
    • Where it was purchased
    • When and where it was registered
    • Where the boat is located
    • Statement that there are no liens against the boat
    • The seller section of the Application for Title/Registration Motor Boat Transaction TC96-184 must be completed. All sellers and buyers must have their signatures’ notarized. Persons that have power of attorney for the seller may sign, but a copy of the power of attorney must be submitted with the application. If the County Clerk’s staff notarizes signatures, identification must be presented. Note-Titles that contain AND (instead of OR) or do not have a designation between names of owners require the signatures of all owners. Titles that contain OR or AND/OR only require the signature of one owner.
  • Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Assembled from Wrecked or Salvaged Motor Vehicles  Form #TC96-215 must be completed by the owner/buyer, signed and buyer/owner’s signature notarized.
  • Need original receipts for parts/materials purchased to construct the boat
  • If you supply your own materials you need to make a notarized list of parts/materials used and from where they were obtained
  • Handwritten receipts must contain the Name, Address and Telephone Number of the person selling the parts/materials, the name of the purchaser, what items were purchased and the cost. If the above information is not provided, the handwritten receipt would have to be signed by the seller and notarized
  • Need a descriptive notarized statement of labor stating what was done to construct the boat. This is to be done by the person(s) who constructed the boat.
  • Need a Water Patrol Inspection. Contact (502)564-3074 for the nearest body of water for the inspection.
  • Must submit all paperwork to the Rebuilt Section for processing. The Rebuilt Section will forward the paperwork to the clerk’s office. The customer will need to come to the clerk’s office to complete the rebuilt transaction.
  • Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.  

 

Fees
Title Fee$9.00
Registration FeeContact county clerk’s office
Lien Filing Fee (if applicable)$22.00 or $24.00
Use Tax (out-of-state boats)6% of the Purchase Price. See Use Tax section.